1. Home
  2. Contact Us
  3. Login
  4. Recent Orders
  5. View Basket
  6. Checkout

EU CUSTOMERS We have temporarily suspended direct orders to the EU - more details.

New TV Shows Based on Waterside Books

2 August 2021

Murder, Mystery and My Family: Case Closed?

Waterside Press publications feature in two new TV releases based on real life cases. The first - a miscarriage of justice case - was shown on July 12 when BBC One screened the opening episode of its new series of Murder, Mystery and My Family: Case Closed? This revisits the case of Edward Devlin and Alfie Burns and includes an interview with Waterside Press author George Skelly whose book Murderers or Martyrs was heavily relied upon by the producers as was his research into the case. It can now be seen on BBC iPlayer (available until 11 August 2021). Skelly’s campaigning zeal has led to mounting support for an official review if the case. (The witness statements from it can be viewed here at Murderers or Martyrs: Witness Statements in the Case of Devlin and Burns).


Developed around Alan Jackaman’s Napper: Through a Glass Darkly, Channel 4’s Deceit airs on August 13 and tells the incredible story of police obsession with the wrong man. It examines the devastating impact on all involved of mistakes made in the headline-grabbing Wimbledon Common investigation into the death of Rachel Nickell. Jackman’s book explains his early suspicions as a detective from a different police division as to the real killer, which were dismissed as part of the ‘deceit’ of the title, leaving Robert Napper free to attack and kill again. His book describing how he stuck to his theory for 15 years was acquired immediately on its release by producers Story Films and he was an adviser to the project.

Recently Viewed